What I’ve Learned as a 20 Year Educator

When you go into education, you want to change the world. Then you get brought down to earth – humbled beyond measure with many unfair challenges.
Many quit at this point — not because they are weak, but because those lessons are often overwhelming; those educators choose a different method of keeping themselves whole (I have been there)!
But those who stay in education find out that it is best to celebrate small victories because change is incremental:

  • A kid finally saying hi to you in public.
  • A kid brings you a small token of appreciation.
  • A smile from the troubled student (often while no one is looking because Heaven forbid we know they are happy).

And then you get the significant victories:

  • A student graduates when they did not have a chance.
  • A parent tells you that they appreciate what you have done for their child
  • A student becomes a regular everyday citizen who loves their family and pays taxes.
  • You get a Christmas card, a call, or a visit.
    The victories are few and far between and educators never know when they will come (although they always seem to come when you are at your lowest — Thank God)!

Honestly, this year has been monumental for me. I’ve experienced former students showing me appreciation for impacting their lives in many ways, which is crazy because I have often thought about quitting the profession.
They don’t know they have made me a better person, father, citizen, coach, and mentor. I have received more from them than they received from me.
Today, I got to fly in a Blackhawk helicopter to Camp Grafton. The North Dakota Army National Guard and Cody Mauch had me do things that few civilians experience, and it was awesome. I know it was his way of showing his appreciation (those who know him know that it is kinda difficult for Cody to be in his feelings).😆But I know he was saying, “Hey, look what I have become!” And I appreciate it greatly.

I have always said this (and some disagree, and that is okay),

If you are only worried about academics, you have missed the point of education.
If you are worried about X’s and O’s, you have missed the point of coaching.
If you measure success with a rubric, you have missed the point of mentorship.

It has always been about relationships.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Tips for Stuffs

Tips for many aspects of living

Debatably Dateable

Dating, Poetry, and More

Rants, Raves, and Rhetoric v4

Commentary about those things I find interesting.

www.Mlst.blog

NEWS/ENTERTAINMENT/SPORTS/ARTICLES/FICTION/ADVERTORIAL/BEAUTY AND FASHION/THE QUINTESSENTIALS